Skip to content

My Love Life

March 2, 2015

Unrequited and unreturned;

The love story of my life.

Never loved and always burned,

I’ve lived romantic strife.

 

That certain, excited, initial charge

When I’d meet somebody new?

A small waste of energy, yet writ large

When she gathered the slightest clue.

 

“Someday”, “Maybe”, and “We’ll see”,

Were the favorite phrases at play.

They’re all basically the same to me:

“Not ever”, “No, sir” and “No way”.

 

The rare first dates all went badly,

So the second dates, of course, wouldn’t come.

I used to always drive home sadly,

But eventually I just became numb.

 

Some things are pointless in this life.

No effort can make them unchanged.

I’ve only ever known romantic strife,

My love life and I are estranged.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

