Skip to content

Lady Across the Way

August 23, 2014

Lady across the way,

Do you see when I see you,

And play as if you don’t,

But really want me to?

 

Do you wonder where I’ve gone,

Those times I’m not in sight?

Do you wonder what I’m doing,

Lying alone there every night?

 

Do you always hope that no one,

Comes knocking on my door;

Reassurance that I’m alone,

For my attention you implore?

 

Do you often think to visit,

But change your mind each time,

For fear I may reject you,

And ruin the sublime?

 

Do you picture us together,

On a beach or in a car?

Do your fantasies beguile you?

Do they take us quite that far?

 

Is our current state quite perfect,

For you the way things are?

Would meeting ruin perfection?

Would that make things too bizarre?

 

It’s best we keep our distance,

So close, yet far away.

I’ll wonder ‘til forever,

Oh, lady across the way.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

