Skip to content

The Great Jacksonville Fish and Chips Expedition- Day 4: Beachside Seafood in Jacksonville Beach

June 17, 2014

Tonight I went to dinner with Kate Winthrop at Beachside Seafood. It is about a block or two south of Beach Blvd, on Third Street, on your right if you’re going south. We pulled into the tiny little parking area right up front and I parked all slanted in the narrow space, and then we walked up the stairs to the second floor dining area. Right as we walked in the great smell of multiple seafood dishes hit me. It was extremely pleasant.

I ordered the fish and chips, of course, and Kate got the blackened mahi sandwich with fries. We didn’t have to wait long before our food arrived. The fish was one large fillet laid across a bed of fries in a basket. The helping seemed a little smaller than I imagined it would, but no matter. It was only $11.99.

There was no doubt that the fish and chips were fresh from the fryer because I ’bout near burnt my mouth on the first bite of fish. I decided to let the fish cool off a little bit and had some fries. The fries were fairly thin crinkle fries. My first one was a little too salty, but the rest weren’t quite so salty. I’m not a huge salt fan. I rarely ever add salt to anything. They were obviously previously frozen fries, but they tasted fine. No major complaint there. Kate then gave me one of her hush puppies. Yummy. It was pretty good. It wasn’t too mealy. It had a nice consistency and flavor. With two bites it was gone.

After having a few fries and inhaling the hush puppy, I went back to my fish. Beachside makes their fish and chips with cod, which is the fish typically used. I blew on it a little to cool it off a little bit more and took a bite. It was pretty good. The fish was moist and mostly firm. It didn’t fall completely apart. Only at the end did the last section become unbuttered and fall apart. Though the fish did taste pretty good, not bland, the batter did taste maybe a little greasy, like maybe it had fried too long. That may seem odd considering how quickly it came out to me, but the batter did have that kind of flavor.

Overall, the fish was pretty good, if not a little too greasy-tasting, and the fries were fine. I actually preferred the company to the food as Kate was very pleasant to talk to and quite pleasing to the eye.

Rating – 3 out of 5 Gills

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

