Skip to content

The Great Jacksonville Fish and Chips Expedition – Introduction

May 6, 2014

          While watching a show entitled Southern Fried Everything the other day, I happened to see one restaurant’s offering of fish and chips. This brought back memories of when I was a kid, living in Atlanta and how, on one Sunday evening, my family and I visited Long John Silver’s for the first time. It was a revelation to a 6 year old who loved only hamburgers and hot dogs. When we returned from LJS (as it is popularly known these days), I turned on my TV to see that Walt Disney Presents was showing Treasure Island, starring Robert Newton as Long John Silver. Jim Hawkins lived and worked with his mother at a seaside English pub. I think I’m remembering that correctly. Anyway….This Southern Fried Everything show reminded me of that fond memory, eating fried fish, chicken planks, hush puppies, and the little crunchies, while wearing my paper pirate hat, and watching Treasure Island. I’ve always been fond of fish and chips (or fries) since then, but it’s not something I order regularly, hence this quest, this fishing expedition if you will, to find the best fish and chips in the Jacksonville, Florida area.

          I requested the names of locations throughout the area that serve the delicious fried duo from my friends on Facebook. I was met with many options in the area, two of which, sadly, do not appear to actually have fish and chips on their menus (Singleton’s Seafood Shack in Mayport and Safe Harbor Seafood, also in Mayport).

          Now, what I will be judging will mainly be the flavor, of course, but I will also be judging the portion size, texture, what kind of chips or fries they have, and whatever else comes to mind. And here are the rules: The menu must actually state “fish and chips” for the location to be considered. Something called “fish dinner” will not suffice. I do not eat tartar sauce nor malt vinegar, so the fish and chips will have to stand on their own. I prefer it that way anyway. The flavor must be able to stand on its own without being covered up by slathering on or dipping into condiments. Now that the rules are in place, the restaurants I will be visiting are:

The Golden Lion Café in Flagler Beach

Fionn MacCool’s Irish Pub and Restaurant at the Jacksonville Landing

Culhane’s Irish Pub in Atlantic Beach

Beachside Seafood in Jacksonville Beach

Kickback’s Gastropub in Riverside

Mulligans Pub at Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach

Donovan’s Irish Pub in Saint Augustine

Lynch’s Irish Pub in Jacksonville Beach

O’Brothers Irish Pub in Riverside

Whitey’s Fish Camp in Orange Park

Two Dudes Eatery and Market in Atlantic Beach

 

          Let the Great Jacksonville Fish and Chips Expedition begin!

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

