Skip to content

Dad

September 17, 2012

I spoke to you again in a dream last night,

As I have so many times before.

And again, just like every other time,

I wanted to say so much more.

There are so many things that were never said

Before you got sick and passed away.

And now I can’t help but think of them

At least once or twice everyday.

The last time that I said “I love you”

I must have been just a little kid.

A man doesn’t say that to his father

So, regretfully, I never did.

I know that I often disappointed you,

Though, of course, you never would say it.

You would occasionally give me advice

And never, not once, did I obey it.

I wanted to be my own man

And walk to my own different beat.

That seemed more important than listening.

That made our division complete.

But now, I wish I had listened.

Now, my hindsight is clear.

Of course I can’t tell you in person,

But I love you and wish you were here.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

